DIY: Wingback Headboard

One of my favorite DIY projects to date is this tall wingback headboard

headboard-4

 I love walking into a bedroom and being warmly greeted by the foot of the bed; from perfectly plush pillows to symmetrical furnishings, it’s the perfect position to draw your eye in all the right places. The challenges in our space included a layout that did not welcome the bed where it was meant to go, a ceiling that was missing 4 feet in height and beautiful trey details (can we say, next house!?).  I needed to add height in all the right places and cover one wimpy window that I was not about to let ruin my vision. And, so the tall wingback headboard project began. If my Aunt is reading this, she is probably cringing by now. #sheisaneditor #andiamnotthegrammarqueen!

I took to Pinterest for inspiration and really had my eye on a velvet tufted headboard. Deciding I was too lazy to tuft one myself, I settled for nailhead trim and wings…because nailing 100 upholstery tacks sounded way more fun! My final inspiration came from luxe interiors + design, or the blurry picture below.

Armed with determination and this rough supply list, I went to gathering:

headboard

All of my lumber, wood screws, canvas drop cloth fabric, staple gun and staples came from Lowe’s Home Improvement. I ended up needing two sections of plywood that I attached together, end to end, to get the 5′ x 5′ headboard. This added 1 x 4’s and wood glue to the supply list to support and frame the plywood.  I gave my desired dimensions to the helpful gentleman in the lumber department and let him do the math and cutting. #mymathisrightuptherewithmygrammar

I already had beer, a drill, scissors, utility knife, adhesive spray, measuring tape, pencil and drywall anchors on hand at home. And, later picked up corner braces to attach the wings, followed by flush lock mounting brackets to hang the headboard on the wall.

I picked up a queen size memory foam mattress topper from Target and batting from Joann Fabric (with coupon, of course).

The upholstery nails for the wings are from D.A.D.S Nails. Yes, you have to buy a full box and yes, they are the most expensive part of this project.

Step 1: Let’s get to building

Had I known I would be blogging this someday, step by step pictures would be included. so.much.easier.to.explain. I tend to steer clear from wordy tutorials and find the ones that have pictures myself. Believe me, it’s noted for next time!

The two pieces of plywood will attach end to end and be framed by your 1 x 4’s, with additional support up the middle seam. Basically, lay your two pieces of plywood side by side, apply wood glue where your inner seam is (where the two sides meet), frame with 1 x 4’s (like a picture frame) and run your last strip of 1 x 4 up the middle seam. Secure all with wood screws.

Step 2: Cover your headboard frame

Trim your laundered and ironed canvas drop cloth, leaving enough extra cloth fabric to wrap around your plywood frame and foam. Trim your batting to match.

Then, trim your foam to match the dimensions of your plywood frame. Your foam will be smaller than your cloth fabric and batting because only the fabric and batting will wrap around to the back side of the frame.

Lay your cloth fabric on a flat surface with the side you will want as the front of your headboard facing down. Layer your batting on top of this with all four corners lined up and matching your fabric. Next, layer your foam, centered, with equal parts of batting on all four sides showing. Spray a thin layer of adhesive onto the foam and add your final layer, the plywood headboard frame, on top. I had this 3M spray adhesive on hand at home.

You should now be looking down at the back side of your headboard frame, with equal parts batting and cloth showing on all four sides. Pull your fabric and batting tightly, ensuring there are no creases that will be showing on the front of your headboard, wrap around to the back side of the headboard and secure with staple gun. Work slowly and take it section by section, spacing staples about 1/2″ – 1″ all the way around. Take special care on the corners as you would when wrapping a present.

Step 3: Wrap the wings

Let me stop here and say that I planned to drill through the wings to attach them to the headboard. If you are going this route, you will not want to cover your wings with your exterior fabric just yet. If you are having trouble with this step and would like to move to Plan B, like me…cover away!

Following the same steps as you did with the headboard, wrap your wings with your batting and fabric.

Step 4: Attach the wings

Attach the wings to your headboard frame using corner braces (hello, plan b) on all four corners where the wings meet the headboard.

 

Step 5: Add nailhead trim

headboard-4 A measuring tape and pencil will be your best friend! I spaced mine 1 3/4″ apart.

Step 6: Mount on wall

 

You will need locking flush mount brackets with drywall anchors, two people and adult beverages of your choice to secure the headboard to the wall. It was seriously such a pain to hang and there has to be an easier way!? You can secure the top two corners, or be really bold and secure all 4 corners to the wall. Though, it would probably take an entire weekend and marriage counselor to make all four brackets happen!

Enjoy, XO

img_4318

 

3 thoughts on “DIY: Wingback Headboard

    1. Thank you! They were lucky finds at our local second hand stores. The mirrors were paired with a dresser and I was able to purchase them away from the set. And, the lamps were a whopping $10 for the set! I couldn’t pass them up. When looking for refinishing projects, I sometimes come across great finds like these.

      Like

Leave a Reply

