DIY: Daybed

I love a good daybed. It feels like a perfectly acceptable place to curl up at any time with a good book, to watch a movie, or just catch some extra zzzzzzzz’s. I also love the versatility of a daybed. They function well in a sitting room, as a chaise lounge or an extra guest bed. If there’s one thing I love, it is multifunctional furniture and multifunctional rooms. For those of you counting, I know…that would make two things that I love! Dual purpose anything is my jam.

Our most recent move gained us extra square footage (yay!) and a little person to help fill up that extra square footage. We turned one of the spare bedrooms into a multi-functioning room; it became both our home office and a second guest bedroom. And, our bonus room was a third living space that we made into a fun game room/third guest bedroom.

About a week after completing these rooms we found out we were expecting. So…the office was turned into the nursery and the bonus room is transitioning into the playroom/office/second guest bedroom.

Baby Takeover:

My mom didn’t skip a beat on requesting the daybed that I made for our former office. It only took me an afternoon to finish and there was no sewing involved. I was literally stuck at home without a car one day and decided to knock it out. In my former life, I had time to do things like that.

Ballard Designs has this amazing Isabella Corner Daybed and I. Just. Love. It. I mean, it is super-fun, right!? isabella-daybedIt is also super-expensive for someone who just moved into a fixer-upper and was having their swimming pool re-done. Napping in a fancy daybed vs. floating around in the swimming pool? This is Florida and that is a no-brainer. Please hold while I go grab my glue gun!

img_9607

My supply list was relatively small considering we already owned the bed:

  • Twin bed (we already had this)
  • Tailored daybed mattress cover – I ordered this cover from world market in Oatmeal
  • Upholstery fabric
  • Foam
  • Plywood, or similar – I used pegboard that was on sale at our local hardware store
  • Velcro Strips – This is what I used to attach the skirt to the frame
  • Glue gun & glue sticks (already had on hand)
  • Stitch Witchery (if you are sewing challenged, like I am!) for the bedskirt hem

daybed-4

For the top portion of the daybed, I took my two pieces of pegboard and cut my foam to match. Then, I cut the fabric, leaving enough to wrap around all four edges (a couple of inches). To secure the fabric to the back of the peg board, I simply used my glue gun.

Next, I measured the fabric for the skirt and used stitch witchery to create a hemline. To attach to the bed frame, I used heavy-duty velcro strips. My mom sent me these photos of the daybed that is currently residing in my dad’s home office.

Meanwhile…we are enjoying our new pool with this cool guy!

XOXO

Featured Image Photo credit: Ballard Designs

Leave a Reply

